Board of Directors

US Club Soccer’s 10-member Board of Directors consists of a chairman, two representatives from each of the four regions and one at-large member:

  • East Region / Region I
  • Midwest Region / Region II
  • South Region / Region III
  • West Region / Region IV
  • At-large member

Board Directors are elected by a popular vote of competitive member clubs in good standing in each region. Each member club has one vote for each Board of Directors seat vacancy in its region. The at-large member is elected by the US Club Soccer Board of Directors.

The current Board of Directors is as follows:

CHAIRMAN: Phil Wright*

  • Former President and Director of Coaching, San Juan Soccer Club (Sacramento, Calif.)
  • National Youth Coach of the Year in 1997
  • Practicing attorney in Sacramento, Calif.
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

EAST REGION / Region I: Mike Cullina*

EAST REGION / Region I: Jason Dewhurst

  • Director of Coaching for FC Stars of Massachusetts over the past 15 years
  • English FA Coaching Certificate
  • Board member of the Elite Clubs National League
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

MIDWEST REGION / Region II: Tim Lesiak

  • Executive Director of Coaching for the Ohio Elite Soccer Academy
  • Head coach of the U-16 Ohio Elite SA girls’ team that captured the 2002 National Cup I championship
  • Before starting Ohio Elite SA, Lesiak spent eight years as the Director of Coaching for the Cardinal Soccer Club
  • All-Mid East Region twice at University of Cincinnati
  • Played professionally with the Cincinnati Cheetahs in the USISL
  • US Club Soccer board member since 2006
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

MIDWEST REGION / Region II: Mike Sweeney*

  • President and Director of Cleveland Whitecaps SC, founding the club in 1996
  • Professional playing career from 1979-1994
  • Has over 100 caps for the Canadian National Team, including appearances in the 1984 Olympics and 1986 World Cup Finals
  • FIFA-licensed coach
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

SOUTH REGION / Region III: Gary Buete

  • CEO of Capital Area Soccer League in North Carolina
  • Former Executive Director of Baton Rouge Soccer Club
  • Former volunteer assistant goalkeeper coach for two seasons at LSU
  • Eighteen 18 years experience coaching boys and girls club teams at the top level in Alabama and Louisiana
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

SOUTH REGION / Region III: George Fotopoulos

  • Girls Director of Coaching and Player Development at Tampa Bay United SC
  • LSU women’s soccer coach from 2000-04, amassing a 44-28-7 record as the second all-time winningest coach in program history
  • 1992 graduate of the University of Tampa, where he was the first player in school history to receive collegiate National Player of the Year honors
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License & National ‘A’ GK License
  • NSCAA Premier Diploma

WEST REGION / Region IV: Tom Atencio*

  • Based in Portland, Ore.
  • Director of Coaching and Player Development at Tualatin Hills United Soccer Club (Ore.)
  • Former member of U.S. U-15 Boys’ National Team staff and U.S. Soccer scouting staff
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

WEST REGION / Region IV: Shawn Blakeman

  • Residing Technical Director of Sacramento United (Calif.) since 2003.
  • Former IMG Academy Staff Coach
  • Former Director of Coaching of the El Dorado United Soccer Club (Shingle Springs, Calif.)
  • Began an 11-year professional soccer career at 17 with the San Jose Earthquakes, followed by a four-year stint in the German Oberliga. Continued to play professionally in the U.S. until 1999.
  • One of the founding and current Executive Board Members of the NorCal Premier Soccer League
  • US Club Soccer board member since 2006
  • U.S. Soccer Federation National ‘A’ License

At-large member: John Rennie

  • Co-founded the Triangle Soccer Academy in 1998, which merged a year later into the Triangle Futbol Club
  • Legendary 29-year head men’s soccer coach at Duke University, where he led the Blue Devils to five College Cups and the 1986 NCAA Division I national championship.
  • Former member of the U.S. Soccer Federation national coaching staff
  • Organized and was the first chairman of the NCAA Division I Soccer Coaches Committee

* = member of Executive Committee